The Liver Pate Connection

Specialities of the House

As the third generation descendent of two French grandparents, my food choices were different from those of my peers. As a child I loved liver pate. No, we didn’t make it at home, with force-fed goose liver. The heritage cuisine downgraded over time and the stuff I was served came in a can. Salty, milder than liverwurst, but still tasty, it was one of my favorite lunch treats. Until the day I brought it to school between two slices of bread. Ew! Ugh! What is that?  Kids at the lunch table thought it was disgusting. I stoutly defended it, but decided not to bring it again. Ham and turkey were the new “normal”  cold cuts of choice. But my old passion returned once I started touring in France and got a taste of the real thing. Other Americans said Ew! Ugh!  But moi? I savored every delicious bite.  Liver Pate. Try it sometime. Bon Chance!

Do you have any taste of home treats that others just don’t get?

3 thoughts on “The Liver Pate Connection

  1. Ines Rodrigues August 17, 2014 / 5:09 pm

    Jackie, I have heard some of the posts, but it always good reading them again. You are a smart and elegant writer.

    Like

    • Jackie August 19, 2014 / 9:43 am

      Thank you, Ines. Glad you’ve enjoyed them. Looking forward to following your blog.

      Like

  2. janet mayer August 27, 2014 / 12:29 pm

    Jackie, While liver pate has never excited me as it does you, it will be my appetizer of choice, next time it appears on a menu, because of your contagious enthusiasm and love for it expressed by your written words!

    Like

Leave a Reply

